Domestic flights will start from May 25, routes divided into 7 sections - Says Civil Aviation Minister Hardeep Puri

Domestic flights will start from May 25, routes divided into 7 sections – Says Civil Aviation Minister Hardeep Puri


New Delhi: Civil Aviation Minister Hardeep Puri said on Thursday that domestic flights, which were closed due to Coronavirus lockdown, are going to start in a phased manner from May 25. He said that all stakeholders such as airlines, airports cooperated, so we decided to resume airlines from May 25.


Hardeep Puri said that we have fixed the maximum and minimum fare. In the case of Delhi and Mumbai, the minimum fare for a 90-120 minute journey will be Rs 3500 while the maximum will be Rs 10,000. This rule will be applicable to airlines for three months. Puri said that the order which has been given today regarding the airlines will be applicable till the 23rd of 23th of August 24th.

Red status showers in Arogya Setu are not allowed to travel

The Civil Aviation Minister said that cabin crew members will have to be in full protective gear. Only one check-in bag will be allowed. Passengers must report at least two hours before departure time. Puri said that to ensure that the passenger has no symptoms of Covid-19, the Arogya Sethu app will be mandatory. Passengers who see the red status at Arogya Setu will not be allowed to travel.

Must wear protective gear mandatory

Passengers must wear protective gear, wear a face mask, and carry a sanitizer bottle together. Food will not be served by airlines while traveling. Water bottles will be available in the seat or gallery area.

Puri said that under the ‘Vande Bharat‘ campaign, we brought back more than 20,000 Indian nationals stranded abroad by planes. He said that the lockdown has proved to be effective, India is among the countries where the number of people who died due to Coronavirus is the lowest in the world.

Separate rules for metro and non-metro cities

Hardeep Puri said that metro to metro cities will have some rules regarding domestic flights, while there will be separate rules for the metro to non-metro cities. Metro cities will include big cities like Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai. The Civil Aviation Minister said that initially one-third of the airport will start. Only 33 percent of the aircraft have been allowed to fly.

Flight routes are divided into 7 sections-

Section 1: Flight time less than 40 minutes

Section 2: Over 40 minutes and up to 60 minutes

Section 3: 60-90 minutes

Section 4: 90 to 120 minutes

Section 5: 2 hours to 2.30 hours

Section 6: Two and a half to three hours

Section 7: 3 hours to three and a half hours

Facebook Comments