India vs New Zealand Playing XI

India vs New Zealand: Team India Dream 11 Predicted Playing XI in 1st ODI Against New Zealand


India vs New Zealand 1st ODI: Openers Prithvi Shaw and Mayank Agarwal are almost certain to debut in the first match of the three-match ODI series against New Zealand starting on Wednesday (5 February) as captain Virat Kohli confirmed Lokesh Rahul’s batting in the middle order. Regular opener Shikhar Dhawan was out of the T20 and ODI series of the New Zealand tour last month.


He suffered a left shoulder injury during the domestic ODI against Australia. His opening partner and team vice-captain Rohit Sharma were dropped from the three-match ODI and two-match Test series due to a muscle strain. This necessitated a complete change in the composition of the openers for India vs New Zealand 1st ODI.

Cricketer KL Rahul
KL Rahul | Image: Twitter

Virat Kohli said that Rahul will bat in the middle order with wicketkeeping here like in the Australia series. Kohli said, “Prithvi will definitely start the innings. We have asked for another opener (Agarwal has joined the team in place of Rohit). Rahul will bat in the middle order. We want him to get into that role and do well.

Virat Kohli in a Press Conference Before IND vs NZ 1st T20
Virat Kohli | Image: Twitter

Mayank, who has cemented his place as an opener in the Indian Test team, has not played ODIs so far. He has scored 872 runs in 9 Tests at an average of 67.07. Mayank has also scored two double centuries in Tests. Mayank will be the third opener along with Lokesh Rahul and Prithvi to replace Rohit in the ODI team.

Prithvi had already been included in the ODI squad in place of injured opener Shikhar Dhawan. Prithvi had scored 150 runs in 100 balls against New Zealand A in the one-day warm-up match against India A. Recently, Prithvi was included in the India A team after getting out of the doping ban. Prithvi returns to the Test after one year.

Prithvi scored a century in the debut Test against the West Indies in November 2018. He was then included in the squad for the Test series against Australia. He was injured in the practice match. He had a leg injury and had to return home. After this, there was also an eight-month ban due to the consumption of drugs banned on Prithvi. Prithvi returned to domestic cricket from November 2019. He also scored a double century in the Ranji Trophy.

Read MoreCricketers Made Five Major Records in IND vs NZ 5th T20i Match

This could be India’s possible playing XI: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Virat Kohli (captain), Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Manish Pandey, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Jaspreet Bumrah.

This could be New Zealand’s possible playing XI: Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Tom Latham (captain and wicketkeeper), Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, James Neesham, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tom Blundell, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

Facebook Comments